Considerations Before Archiving
The following summarizes some of the important items to note regarding
the archiving facility. Consider them before you begin archiving:
- We strongly encourage you to have a current backup of your files
- Archiving is not user-specific. In other words, archiving is attached
to a file not a user. For your own protection, please be aware that someone
other than yourself can complete or change an existing archiving activity.
- Data from logical and physical files can be archived, but only the
data from the physical (primary) file can be purged (removed).
- VA FileMan must be able to collect and print the data (using the
search criteria) before you can create an archiving activity. That is, the
Select Entries to Archive option must be run to completion such that the
selected entries are printed (and can thus be stored in the ^DIBT SORT TEMPLATE
- If you plan to keep a hard copy of the printed entries for future
reference, design your PRINT template to facilitate review. You do not need to
print all of the fields' values that will be archived, but you may want to
include those that, in combination, will uniquely identify the entry. Save the
PRINT template for future use when archiving.
- When the archived entries are written to temporary storage, the
corresponding original entry disappears from the user's view. (A new node,
subscripted with -9, is added to the original entry so that it will be bypassed
by the usual VA FileMan calls.)
- If data to be archived is contained in a Multiple field, then the
entire entry must be archived. You cannot archive a subentry by
- A FILEGRAM-type template is the only template type allowed in the
Write Entries to Temporary Storage option.
- You cannot have more than one archiving activity on a file at a
- Data selected for archiving can be permanently saved to any
sequential storage media, for example: SDP, a VMS file, magnetic tape,
or a removable disk pack.
- Depending on the number of entries involved, be prepared for the
search (the Select Entries to Archive option) and write (the Write Entries to
Temporary Storage option) processes to be time-consuming.
- A brief history of who performed the various archive steps and when
they were accomplished is saved in the
- You can cancel your archiving process, by using the Cancel Archival
Selection option, at any time before the Purge Stored Entries option is
- The Find Archived Entries option can be used to verify that the
archive medium contains all the information intended to be
- The Purge Stored Entries option completely deletes data from the file
being archived and from the
- You cannot purge archived entries until you have moved selected
entries to permanent storage. Thus, you need not worry about losing entries
before they're archived.
- You cannot start a second archive from a file until you purge or
cancel the existing archiving activity on that file.
Reviewed/Updated: March 4, 2007