|Contents:||Main||Chapter||See Also:||Getting Started Manual||Programmer Manual|
If you have DELETE access to the primary file, you can use the Purge Stored Entries option to delete extracted data from the primary file (our example is the CHANGE file). After you have purged your entries, VA FileMan will update the ARCHIVAL ACTIVITY file. If you attempt to purge an extract activity that lacks the status UPDATED DESTINATION FILE, you will encounter the following message:
Data has NOT YET been moved to the destination file!
When purging extracted data, you will encounter a dialogue much like the one that follows:
Select EXTRACT OPTION: PURGE EXTRACTED ENTRIES Select EXTRACT ACTIVITY: 3 CHANGE 08-30-92 UPDATED DESTINATION FILE SELECTOR:SMITH,J EXTRACT
If the source file has fields from other files pointing to it, the Extract Tool tells you:
The records about to be purged should not be 'pointed to' by other records to maintain database integrity. This option will DELETE DATA from both CHANGE and from the ARCHIVAL ACTIVITY file. Are you sure you want to continue? NO// YES The entries will be deleted in INTERNAL NUMBER order. << 4 ENTRIES PURGED >>
As you can see, entering a YES response to the prompt "Are you sure you want to continue?" deletes the entries immediately!
Reviewed/Updated: March 4, 2007