|Contents:||Main||Chapter||See Also:||Getting Started Manual||Programmer Manual|
The Transfer Entries submenu contains two options (Transfer File Entries and Compare/Merge File Entries) to allow you to compare and/or merge two entries in a single file or to transfer entries from one file to another. For example, you may need to combine data from two different entries into one of the two. This could happen in a patient database when the same patient has been inadvertently entered twice with the name spelled slightly differently.
NOTE: Once you have merged file entries, the merging cannot be undone. Care must be taken that data is not mistakenly lost.
The Transfer File Entries option can be used for several purposes. You can use it to:
However, the Compare/Merge File Entries option (described below) should usually be used to merge entries in the same file; it is specifically designed for that task.
You must have READ access for the file you are transferring from and WRITE access for the file you are transferring to. If you are deleting entries after the transfer, you need delete access as well. (See the "Data Security" chapter for the details of file security.)
The Compare/Merge File Entries option allows you to compare the data value of two entries before merging them into one entry. Furthermore, this option provides you with an opportunity to identify the data values from either entry that will be used to create the final merged entry. Both of the entries involved must be in the same file to use this option.
Reviewed/Updated: March 4, 2007